GOAT Philosophy

Main characteristics

GOAT…

…is an interactive, flexible and useful accessibility instrument.

…focuses on active mobility (e.g. walking and cycling).

…allows you to model scenarios.

…can be set up anywhere in the world.

…is open source and built completely with open source software.

…is highly customizable and extendable.

Why GOAT?

It is evident that active mobility plays a very important role in urban mobility. GOAT as an accessibility instrument aims to aid in raising awareness to properly plan for pedestrians and cyclists during urban infrastructural developments. GOAT comes with numerous desirable features that make it ideal for accessibility planning.

Modelling active mobility (walking & cycling) in transport models is challenging and does not normally deliver expected results. Urban planners and decision makers need elaborate support to properly plan and improve active mobility. This gap can be conveniently filled by accessibility models.

Various accessibility tools exist already, however, there are is still a lot of potential for improvements. Especially in the urban planning fields, it is perceived that common accessibility tools lacks several functionalities including:

  • Few of them consider active mobility.
  • They often allow no scenario building.
  • Few of them are open source.
  • Transferring the tool to another study area can be cost- and time-consuming.
  • Accessibility tools can be black boxes.

With the development of GOAT, we aim for closing these gaps.

Planning Questions

Although GOAT is at an early stage of development, it can be used to answer different planning questions. Some examples are:

  • How good is the walking accessibility to kindergartens in different parts of the city?
  • How good is the cycling accessibility to schools?
  • How many residents are served by certain public transport stops? Where can the perfect location for a new public transport be in order to serve as many residents as possible?
  • What is the effect of a new pedestrian or bicycle bridge on the accessibility of a neighborhood?
  • How does the accessibility of a place change if there is temporary closure of a walkway?
  • How many people can reach a certain destination within 10 minutes walking distance? How does this change if only barrier-free paths can be used? Where are barriers in the network and how could they be removed?

Philosophy

GOAT’s architecture is completely built with open source software, in addition, it is open source itself (Licence GPL-3.0). This means that GOAT can be modified and used by anyone (free of charge). Anyone can also contribute towards improving the functionality and operation of GOAT.

GOAT is equipped with OpenStreetMap (OSM), as well as a variety of other data (both open and proprietary). OSM is seen as an extremely valuable resource, but it is worth emphasizing that the aim is not only to consume the data, but also to be an active part of the OSM community. This decision is seen as essential for sustaining this and other projects.

In addition, further individual data sources can be conveniently added. Due to its modular character, GOAT enables easy expansion and scalability. Innovative approaches are used here.

Everybody is welcome to use and contribute to GOAT. If you are interested in contributing just visit our GitHub.

GOAT Philosophy

Hauptmerkmale

GOAT…

… ist ein interaktives, flexibles und in der Praixs bewährtes Erreichbarkeitswerkzeug.

…fokussiert sich auf nachhaltige Mobilitätsformen (Fuß-, Radverkehr und ÖPNV).

…erlaubt es eigene Szenarien zu modellieren.

…kann überall auf der Welt angewendet werden.

…ist Open Source und baut einschließlich auf Open Source Software auf.

…ist individualisierbar und erweiterbar.

Warum GOAT?

Es liegt auf der Hand, dass aktive Mobilität für die urbane Mobilität eine sehr wichtige Rolle spielt. GOAT als Erreichbarkeitsinstrument zielt daher darauf ab, das Bewusstsein für die richtige Planung für Fuß- und Radverkehr während städtischer Infrastrukturentwicklungen zu schärfen. GOAT kommt mit zahlreichen hilfreichen Funktionen, die es ideal für die Planung der Erreichbarkeit machen.

Die Modellierung aktiver Mobilität (Fuß- und Radverkehr) in Verkehrsmodellen ist eine Herausforderung und führt in der Regel nicht zu den erwarteten Ergebnissen. Planer:innen und Entscheidungsträger:innen brauchen umfassende Unterstützung, um aktive Mobilität richtig planen und verbessern zu können. Diese Lücke kann bequem mit Erreichbarkeitsmodellen geschlossen werden.

Verschiedene Werkzeuge zur Erreichbarkeit existieren bereits, aber es besteht noch großes Verbesserungspotential. Insbesondere in folgenden Bereichen ist festzustellen, dass gängige Erreichbarkeits-Tools nicht funktional genug sind:

  • Nur wenige ziehen aktive Mobilität in Betracht.
  • Sie erlauben oft keine Szenarienentwicklung.
  • Nur wenige von ihnen sind Open Source.
  • Die Übertragung des Werkzeugs in ein anderes Studiengebiet kann schwierig sein.
  • Erreichbarkeitswerkzeuge können „black boxes“ sein.

Mit der Entwicklung von GOAT wollen wir diese Lücken beheben.

Planungsfragen

Mit GOAT können damit verschiedene Planungsfragen beantwortet werden. Einige Beispiele sind:

  • Wie gut ist die Erreichbarkeit von Schulen in bestimmten Stadtteilen zu Fuß?
  • Wie viele Bewohner:innen werden von bestimmten Haltestellen des öffentlichen Nahverkehrs abgedeckt? Wo kann der perfekte Standort für einen neuen öffentlichen Nahverkehr sein, um möglichst viele Bewohner:innen zu versorgen?
  • Wie wirkt sich eine neue Fußgängerbrücke auf die Erreichbarkeit eines Viertels aus?
  • Wie verändert sich die Erreichbarkeit eines Ortes bei vorübergehender Schließung eines Gehweges?

Philosophie

Die GOAT-Architektur ist komplett auf Open-Source-Software aufgebaut, außerdem ist sie selbst Open Source (Lizenz GPL-3.0). Somit kann jeder zur Verbesserung der Funktionalität und der Funktionsweise von GOAT beitragen.

GOAT wird mit OpenStreetMap (OSM), sowie einer Vielzahl weiterer (offener sowie propriotärer) Daten bestückt. OSM wird als äußerst wertvolle Quelle angesehen, aber es ist hervorzuheben, dass es nicht nur darauf abzielt die Daten zu konsumieren, sondern auch aktiv Teil der OSM-Community zu sein. Diese Entscheidung wird als wesentlich für die Erhaltung dieses und anderer Projekte angesehen.

Außerdem können weitere individuelle Datenquellen bequem hinzugefügt werden. Aufgrund des modularen Charakters ermöglicht GOAT eine einfache Erweiterung und Skalierbarkeit. Hierbei kommen innovative Ansätze zum Einsatz.

Jeder ist herzlich eingeladen, GOAT zu nutzen und dazu beizutragen. Wenn sie daran interessiert sind einen Beitrag zu leisten, besuchen sie einfach unser GitHub.